NEWS RELEASE

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE DATE: 06/29/2018

CONTACT: Bethany Jacques

TITLE: Data Analyst/Awards Committee Chair

PHONE: (989) 758-3810

EMAIL: bjacques@saginawcounty.com

SAGINAW COUNTY DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH HONORS EMPLOYEES AND COMMUNITY PARTNERSHIPS

The Saginaw County Department of Public Health (SCDPH) wants to recognize award recipients for 2018. The awards presented by SCDPH include, the Employee of the Year, the Richard Calley Distinguished Service Award, Spirit of Public Health Award, and Longevity Award.

The **2018 Employee of the Year,** has been awarded to **Lori Bill,** for exemplary performance and accomplishment on the job. Lori has been with the Department for the past 10 years as a custodian. Lori is described by her co-workers as a conscientious and hard worker who takes pride in her work.

SCDPH annually awards the **Richard Calley Distinguished Service Award** in recognition of an individual, organization, or business that has made a significant contribution to the advancement of public health in Saginaw County. This year's honoree is **Reneé Johnston**, President and CEO of the Saginaw Community Foundation. Reneé has been working on the advancement of public health dating back to the early 2000's in which Reneé supported the efforts of Saginaw County embarking on the first Community Health Assessment and Health Improvement Plan. It was with the assistance of Reneé and the Saginaw Community Foundation that Saginaw County is still working to improve the health of our residents today.

The **2018 Spirit of Public Health Award** recipients are **Debra Contreras**, **Elizabeth Dzuba**, **Denver Isom**, **Andrew Mendyk**, and **Linda Owen**. This award is given to those SCDPH employees who embody the spirit of public service and go the extra mile in the performance of job duties and customer service.

SCDPH also annually recognizes staff employment milestones for years of dedicated service to the Department. This year's 2018 Longevity Certificates were presented to: Carissa Hillman, Emergency Preparedness Coordinator, and Katherine Losee, Hearing Technician, for 5 years of service. Longevity Awards were presented to: Lori Bill, Custodian, and Margie Dwenger, Immunization Clerk for 10 years of service; Steven Ellis, Senior Environmental Health Specialist, and Sandra Ellison, Clerk Interviewer/Receptionist for 15 years of service; and Pamela Dottery, Nursing Office Manager for 30 years of service.

[See attached photos –

DSA.JPG – Renee Johnston pictured with Christina Harrington, SCDPH Health Officer

EOY.JPG – Lori Bill pictured with Sue McInerney, SCDPH Board of Commissioner/Board of Health Member, and Christina Harrington

Spirit.JPG – Pictured left to right: Christina Harrington, Andrew Mendyk, Denver Isom, Sue McInerney, Debra Contreras, Linda Owen (not pictured: Elizabeth Dzuba)

DSA.JPG



EOY.JPG



Spirit.JPG

